Envisioning My Goal

At first, I had a very hard time trying to find my vision. I have not put much thought into it before this exercise, so it was very frustrating for my to come up with goals to form a path that led to my vision. The over all thought process took quite a while, and I meandered around the house for some time trying to figure out what I knew I would accomplish in the next 12 months, what I hoped I would accomplish, and what I would love to accomplish. I wasn’t even sure I had a solid grasp on what my vision even was!

Then my mind started to wander and I started goofing off, checking Facebook and Youtube trying to find outs to this project and keep my mind occupied on something else. While I was watching videos I had “favorited” on Youtube, I saw a music video of an obscure band that I had become interested in a while back. Watching the drummer, the guitarists, and everything left me in awe. I wanted to do that. I wished I could shred and sweep the way the lead guitarist could, I wanted to smash those drums with the same enthusiasm the drummer did. The effects, the stances, I wanted to be a part of it. And here my path started to open a little.

I know I want to get into music, either the playing side (in a band) or the recording and producing side (in the studio). But the question is “How do I get there from here?” Luckily, the BIS program provides a great opportunity with it’s internships. But, before that I needed to find motivation and inspiration, two things that are hard for me to come by, to get what needs to be done.

One of my first steps, to be done by June 1st, 2012, is to do some research on various studios. Right now, I know almost nothing on how a music studio operates or what kind of equipment and technology the average studio uses. I know a few people, Dave, Carlos, and Jordan, who are either in bands or know people in a band. Carlos and Jordan even do their own recording. Talking to these people and doing research on the internet would be invaluable.

Once I get some research done, I need to get together my resume and business profile (which I’ve already started on LinkedIn), to be done by June 1st, 2012, as well. I need to me marketable to businesses and companies that may be interested in me. Even if I can’t meet my vision, there will always be opportunities for me elsewhere until I can try again.

Next, I need to actually look for the internship, to be done by July 1, 2012. By then I should have some experience working with bands, knowledge of recording companies, and completed my resume, so I should be all set to start looking for an internship and marketing myself. I’ve also set the goal to have the internship by the time the Fall semester starts, August 23rd, 2012, however I’m sure that the application is due some time before that.

In the end, on December 24th 2012, I want to walk away from the internship with the promise of a job and a future in the music industry.

Leave a comment